Find out if you may need a Schengen visa or ETIAS.

What is ETIAS?

The European Commission is setting up an electronic travel authorization system for visitors from countries that are not part of the EU but have obtained visa-free access to the EU and Schengen member countries because of their good safety results. therefore, have not been considered a threat to EU security.


ETIAS stands for ETIAS EUROPE - EU Electronic Travel Information and Authorization System - AVE EUROPE - EUROPE eTA. The system will verify security vouchers and charge travelers to EU countries for business, tourism, medical or transit purposes. The visa application procedure and the EU control procedures for entering the Schengen area depend solely on the nationality of the visitor and are free of charge. ETIAS, like ESTA, will streamline this visa process for people who do not need a visa at the moment but who will have additional security checks before they can enter the EU. . The ETIAS Travel Authorization will be mandatory for citizens of countries that currently do not require a visa to enter Europe, including the United States, Australia, New Zealand and Canada. Do you want to know more?

Contactez nous

A new travel authorization for EU visitors: meet ETIAS, the European Travel Information and Authorization System

The reasons for this implementation

Currently, there are a significant number of countries whose citizens are allowed to enter the EU and the member countries of the Schengen area without the need for a visa. These visitors are limited to a stay of 3 months and their visit is supposed to be for tourist or commercial purposes. There are restrictions under which visa-free travelers are not allowed to work or study. From April 2020, these travelers will need a travel authorization to travel to Europe for tourist, commercial or transit purposes.

The implementation texts were finalized in November 2016. With this implementation, the European Commission intends to improve the security of the Schengen area by obliging travelers without a visa to obtain authorization to travel and undergo various security checks before their arrival in the EU. This evisa europe will ensure that potential security threats are identified and dealt with outside the borders of the EU and ensure that citizens remain safe from such threats within the EU.

How to complete your application?

Application - The application must be made online before arrival in the EU. Each eligible traveler to the EU will need an E-visa europe.

Form fields - The following data will be required for each application: personal biometric data (name, sex, birth data, etc.), passport or travel document, Member State of entry in the EU, general questions about the applicant's health, record as well as the history of immigration from the previous EU.

Fees - The cost is € 50, however, people under the age of 18 will not need to pay the fees.

Application process - When submitting, each application will be checked on SIS / VIS / EUROPOL / SLTD (Interpol) / EURODAC / ECRIS etc.), the selection rules and the watch list. If the application corresponds to information from one of these databases, the application will be subject to manual processing by the immigration services of the first country visited.

Application decision - Usually a decision will be made by the system in a matter of minutes. If an application is approved, it will be issued for a period of five years or until the expiration date of the applicant's passport, whichever comes first. If an application is rejected, the applicant will receive a reason for the refusal as well as information about the country or authority that decides that the authorization is approved.

Boarding - This e-visa can only be used for transit, tourism and business trips. This authorization will be checked by flight personnel before a boarding trip by air, land or sea. If the ETIAS is not approved, the traveler will not be authorized to board the travel boat, whether it is a plane, boat or bus.

Arrival to the EU - When entering the Schengen area, a border guard will decide to admit a traveler based on information from the EES system, approved ETIAS , as well as travel documents and traveler's arrangements.

Revocation and cancellation

If an application is deemed to have been submitted fraudulently or if the applicant's situation has changed, an E.T.I.A.S may be revoked if the conditions of approval are no longer valid. A revocation or cancellation is made by the authorities of the EU Member State which receives the applicant for the first time.

Implications for British travelers in the EU

There was nothing in the report to indicate that the British would be subject to this new ETIAS Europe, but he said that any negotiations with the United Kingdom could not begin until after Article 50 was triggered. concluded between the Presidents of the European Commission, the European Parliament and the European Council representing the 27 members of the EU and would likely remain until the UK government fulfills its Brexit obligations and triggers Article 50.

According to researcher Camino Mortera-Martinez, who specializes in justice and home affairs at the Center for European Reform, British citizens in Europe can be considered third-country nationals. All immigration requirements imposed on other third countries could also apply to Great Britain. You never see as many Turkish shopwindows in big European cities like Paris as the Germans, because Turkey is considered as a 3 th country which does not allow its citizens to circulate freely in the EU countries. No matter how safe Canada is or how unlikely it is to breed terrorists, it will still be considered a third country according to EU definitions.

Press releases


Union de sécurité: la Commission se félicite de l'adoption du système d'entrée / sortie pour des frontières de l'UE plus fortes et plus intelligentes

Mer. 25 oct. 2017 11:30:00 GMT
European Commission - Declaration Brussels, 25 October 2017 Following the adoption today by ...
Lire la suite

Questions and Answers: Preserving and Strengthening the Sch Areaengen

Mer., 27 sept. 2017 10:38:00 GMT
European Commission - Fact Sheet Brussels, 27 September 2017 What is the Commission proposing today? ...
Lire la suite

Highlights

Learn more about ETIAS facts and key figures in a concise infographic.

Read more

FAQ

Do you have questions? Visit the FAQ section to learn more.

Read more

News

Learn about the latest news, analysis and other news.

Read more

Dernières nouvelles, exigences et analyses sur le système européen d'information et d'autorisation de voyage (ETIAS)

Y compris tout ce que vous devez savoir sur ETIAS et plus.

À propos d'ETIAS

ETIAS vous affectera-t-il?

Découvrez si vous pouvez avoir besoin d'un visa Schengen ou ETIAS.

Qu'est-ce que ETIAS?

La Commission européenne met en place un système électronique d'autorisation de voyage pour les visiteurs de pays qui ne font pas partie de l'UE mais qui ont obtenu un accès sans visa à l'UE et aux pays membres Schengen en raison de leurs bons résultats en matière de sécurité. , donc, n'ont pas été considérés comme une menace pour la sécurité de l'UE.


ETIAS signifie ETIAS EUROPE - Système d'Informations et d'Autorisation de voyage Electronique de l'UE - AVE EUROPE - EUROPE eTA. Le système vérifiera les justificatifs de sécurité et facturera des frais aux voyageurs qui visitent les pays membres de l'UE à des fins commerciales, touristiques, médicales ou de transit. La procédure de demande de visa et les procédures de contrôle de l'UE pour entrer dans l'espace Schengen dépendent uniquement de la nationalité du visiteur et sont gratuites. L'ETIAS, à l'instar de l'ESTA, rationalisera ce processus de visa pour les personnes qui n'ont pas besoin de visa à l'heure actuelle mais qui subiront des contrôles de sécurité supplémentaires avant de pouvoir entrer dans l'UE. L'autorisation de voyage ETIAS sera obligatoire pour les citoyens des pays qui n'ont actuellement pas besoin de visa pour entrer en Europe, y compris les États-Unis, l'Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada. Voulez-vous en savoir plus?

Contactez nous

Une nouvelle autorisation de voyage pour les visiteurs de l'UE: rencontrez ETIAS, le système européen d'information et d'autorisation de voyage

Pourquoi ETIAS?

Actuellement, il existe un nombre important de pays dont les citoyens sont autorisés à entrer dans l'UE et les pays membres de l'espace Schengen sans avoir besoin d'un visa. Ces visiteurs sont limités à un séjour de 3 mois et leur visite est censée être à des fins touristiques ou commerciales. Il existe des restrictions selon lesquelles les voyageurs sans visa ne sont pas autorisés à travailler ou à étudier. Cependant, ces voyageurs auront besoin d'un ETIAS pour voyager en Europe à des fins touristiques, commerciales ou de transit.

La proposition ETIAS a été finalisée en novembre 2016. En mettant en œuvre l'ETIAS, la Commission européenne a l'intention d'améliorer la sécurité de l'espace Schengen en obligeant les voyageurs sans visa à obtenir une autorisation de voyage et à subir divers contrôles de sécurité avant leur arrivée dans l'UE. L'ETIAS ferait en sorte que les menaces potentielles pour la sécurité soient identifiées et traitées en dehors des frontières de l'UE et garantisse que les citoyens restent à l'abri de telles menaces au sein de l'UE.

Comment fonctionnera ETIAS?

Application - L'ETIAS doit être demandé en ligne avant l'arrivée dans l'UE. Chaque voyageur éligible vers l'UE aura besoin d'un ETIAS.

Champs de formulaire - Les données suivantes seront requises pour chaque application ETIAS: données biométriques personnelles (nom, sexe, données de naissance, etc.), passeport ou document de voyage, État membre d'entrée dans l'UE, questions générales sur la santé du demandeur, record ainsi que l'histoire de l'immigration de l'UE précédente.

Frais - Le coût d'un ETIAS est de 5 €, cependant, les personnes de moins de 18 ans n'auront pas besoin de payer les frais.

Processus de candidature - Lors de la soumission, chaque candidature sera vérifiée sur SIS / VIS / DONNÉES EUROPOL / SLTD (Interpol) / EURODAC / ECRIS etc.), les règles de sélection ETIAS ainsi que la liste de surveillance ETIAS. Si l'application correspond aux informations de l'une de ces bases de données, l'application sera soumise à un traitement manuel par les unités nationales ETIAS Central et / ou ETIAS.

Décision d'application - Habituellement, une décision sera prise par le système en quelques minutes. Si une demande ETIAS est approuvée, elle sera émise pour une période de cinq ans ou jusqu'à la date d'expiration du passeport du demandeur, selon la date la plus rapprochée. Si une demande ETIAS est rejetée, le demandeur recevra une raison pour le refus ainsi que des informations sur le pays ou l'autorité qui décident que l'ETIAS est approuvée.

Embarquement - L'ETIAS ne peut être utilisé que pour le transit, le tourisme et les voyages d'affaires. Comme ETIAS sera vérifié par les transporteurs avant un voyage d'embarquement par avion, terre ou mer. Si un ETIAS n'est pas approuvé, le voyageur ne sera pas autorisé à monter à bord du bateau de voyage, que ce soit un avion, un bateau ou un bus.

Arrivée à l'UE - Lors de l'entrée dans la zone Schengen, un garde-frontière prendra la décision d'admettre un voyageur sur la base des informations du système EES, des ETIAS approuvées, ainsi que des documents de voyage et des dispositions du voyageur.

Révocation et annulation

Si une demande est réputée avoir été soumise frauduleusement ou si la situation du demandeur a changé, un ETIAS peut être révoqué si les conditions d'approbation ne sont plus valables. Une révocation ou une annulation est effectuée par les autorités de l'État membre de l'UE qui reçoit le demandeur pour la première fois.

Implications pour les voyageurs britanniques dans l'UE

Rien n'indiquait dans le rapport que les Britanniques seraient soumis à cette nouvelle ETIAS Europe, mais il a dit que toute négociation avec le Royaume-Uni ne pouvait commencer qu'après le déclenchement de l'article 50. Cet accord a été conclu entre les présidents de la Commission européenne, du Parlement européen et du Conseil européen représentant les 27 membres de l'UE et resterait probablement jusqu'à ce que le gouvernement britannique remplisse ses obligations au titre du Brexit et déclenche l'article 50.

Selon un chercheur, Camino Mortera-Martinez, dont la spécialité est la justice et les affaires intérieures au Centre for European Reform, les citoyens britanniques en Europe peuvent être considérés comme des ressortissants de pays tiers. Toutes les exigences d'immigration imposées aux autres pays tiers pourraient également s'appliquer à la Grande-Bretagne. On ne voit jamais autant de lèche-vitrines turques dans les grandes villes européennes comme Paris que les Allemands, car la Turquie est considérée comme un 3 ème pays qui n'autorise pas ses citoyens à circuler librement dans les pays de l'UE. Peu importe la sécurité du Canada ou l'improbabilité d'engendrer des terroristes, il sera toujours considéré comme un troisième pays selon les définitions de l'UE.

Communiqués de presse ETIAS


Union de sécurité: la Commission se félicite de l'adoption du système d'entrée / sortie pour des frontières de l'UE plus fortes et plus intelligentes

Mer. 25 oct. 2017 11:30:00 GMT
Commission européenne - Déclaration Bruxelles, le 25 octobre 2017 Suite à l'adoption d'aujourd'hui par ...
Lire la suite

Questions et réponses: Préserver et renforcer l'espace Schengen

Mer., 27 sept. 2017 10:38:00 GMT
Commission européenne - Fiche d'information Bruxelles, le 27 septembre 2017 Que propose la Commission aujourd'hui? ...
Lire la suite

Faits saillants ETIAS

En savoir plus sur les faits et chiffres clés ETIAS dans une infographie concise.

Lire la suite

FAQ ETIAS

Vous avez des questions sur ETIAS? Visitez la section FAQ pour en savoir plus.

Lire la suite

ETIAS Nouvelles

Renseignez-vous sur les dernières nouvelles, analyses et autres reportages d'ETIAS.

Lire la suite